About 2 billion monthly users run on Android OS today. For a fact, Android is an open source software, which means that anybody who has skills in developing can do whatever they want with it. It can be good or bad. We don’t know. With the rise of malware attacks today, Google has put security as the top priority for this open source software. Google introduced Google Find My Device to allow users to control their Android smartphones remotely from the web or a friend´s Android phone to locate, reset and erase data in case it is lost or stolen. Google Find My Device was formerly known as Android device manager, but later on rebranded to Google Find My Device in 2017, similar to the tracking app on iOS called Find my iPhone. This is a relief for users who just love using Android and want to protect their data from falling in the wrong hands. For those who are hearing about Google Find My Device for the first time, this article will help you get a better understanding of what it is all about and how it works. To those who already know it, I hope you can walk away with something new. Let´s get started!

What is Google Find My Device

Google Find My Device is a feature on your Android phone that provides security in case it is lost or stolen by remotely locating, locking or erasing the data in it. Note: You can use Google Find My Device when you are connected to a Google Account.

How to activate Google Find My Device (2 Steps)

It is simple to activate the settings on your phone, so that you can start remotely control it from anywhere. Follow these 2 steps and you´re ready to go. Note: We used the Redmi 4A to demonstrate this procedure.

1. Turn on Location Access

First head to Settings and tap Additional settings

On Additional Settings window, tap Privacy

On the Privacy window, go to Location

On the Location window, you can choose a location mode you want. If you choose High accuracy, you’ll need to use GPS, Wi-Fi and mobile networks to determine location. But if you decide that you want to save your battery, you can choose the Battery Saving mode. With this, you use Wi-Fi and mobile networks to determine location. If you only want to use GPS to determine location, then set it to Device Only.

2. Enable Google Security Settings

To enable Google security setting, open settings. Scroll down and tap Google.

From the Google window, Tap Security

In the Security tab, head to Find My Device to remotely locate your phone

When you are there, turn it on. You’ll be given turn three options to choose from, select one.

To Find My Device with App Using Web https://www.google.com/android/find Using Google Go to Google. On the search tab, type find my device

What does Google Find My Device do?

Now you know what this security feature on your Android Phone is. It is high time we discuss what it actually does when you´re use it for the following:

1. To locate

If you lose your phone and don´t remember the last place you misplace it, simply go to Google Find My Device and sign in your Google account. Once you are there, it will show the current location of your device using Google Maps. You will also see when it was last seen and battery percentage. You can use the Google Maps to navigate through the area and once you are nearby, you can tap the option play sound. This will allows your phone to ring for 5 minutes on the loudest volume even if it is set to silence.

2. To lock

When you select secure device, this will automatically allow you to lock your phone remotely by simply setting a new password so that no one can access it. It will also display a message on the screen to call back in case a stranger finds it.

3. To Erase

If there is no hope of finding you´re device, you can simply choose to erase it. This will delete all the data in your phone so that no one can get their hands on it. This however, should be your last resort. Once you have wiped your Android phone, you cannot access it remotely on Google Find My Device anymore. People who use Google Find My Device on Android also used an Android Smart watch to find it via voice command.

What Users Are Asking About Google Find My Device

Conclusion

This article has told you everything you need to know about Google Find My Device and its wonderful features that enable you to locate your lost or stolen smartphone. I hope this article has helped you know how to protect your data from thieves. If you are using Google Find My Device to secure your phone, we would love to hear how it has been useful to you in the comment section below. Next Read: Find My Phone Android Feature Image

What is Google Find My Device   Android Device Manager    JoyofAndroid - 47What is Google Find My Device   Android Device Manager    JoyofAndroid - 72What is Google Find My Device   Android Device Manager    JoyofAndroid - 89What is Google Find My Device   Android Device Manager    JoyofAndroid - 96What is Google Find My Device   Android Device Manager    JoyofAndroid - 44What is Google Find My Device   Android Device Manager    JoyofAndroid - 14What is Google Find My Device   Android Device Manager    JoyofAndroid - 42What is Google Find My Device   Android Device Manager    JoyofAndroid - 2What is Google Find My Device   Android Device Manager    JoyofAndroid - 89What is Google Find My Device   Android Device Manager    JoyofAndroid - 56What is Google Find My Device   Android Device Manager    JoyofAndroid - 83